jump to navigation

How To Progressively Update Asylum-Omni 4.4.2 Kitkat Rom Directly OTA January 12, 2014

Posted by Admin in Uncategorized.
trackback

New Update/build

image

image

20140123 Build:
image

image

new notification feature for the lock screen.
image

Progressive Update Index (Asylum~Omni Rom)

image

Date:  12 December 2014

Key Notes:  THIS METHOD IS FOR THOSE WHO ALREADY INSTALLED WITH ASYLUM  CUSTOM ROM 4.4.2 (Kitkat) AND WISH TO CONTINUE WITH ITS NEW FEATURE UPDATES ROLLED OUT BY THE DEVELOPER (SEE ABOVE).

Follow the steps appended below to enjoy constant new feature updates for your Asylum-Omni 4.4.2 rom.

(1) Download the latest update as listed on the above Index onto your device OTA, and then move the downloaded rom zip file to the phone’s sd card.

image

image

(2) Reboot your phone to RECOVERY mode (TWRP)

image

image

(3) Carry out WIPE > Davik Cache and Cache ONLY.
image

(4) Goto INSTALL and flash the downloaded rom update (e.g. 4.4.2 dated 20140112) from the sd card of your phone.
image

image

(5) After successfully flashed the rom update, do the same for the Update-SuperSU zip file  that is already stalled in your sd card since previous installation of the 4.4.2 Asylum rom.
(this is to ensure that your phone will remain Rooted after this  new update of rom ).
image

(6) Reboot System. (It will take a few minutes to complete)
image

image

image

image

Upon seeing the Lock Screen appears, you have done it!

(7) Download (if you haven’t done it earlier) the Root Checker from PlayStore to confirm that your phone remains Rooted after this update of rom. 
image

That’s good…

This method is without going for the full data wipe & factory reset, unlike the major change/Rom update. Therefore you will retain all data and downloaded Apps after such progressive rom (new features, bugs fix) updates along the way. No hassle (no PC needed) and no headache. 
image

image

Above:  In the Setting > About Phone  –  it will indicate that the rom has been updated to whatever (latest) version.

Important > MAKE SURE YOUR PHONE IS IN FULL CHARGE OR AT LEAST 80% BATTERY STATE OR IT IS PLUGGED IN TO POWER. DISRUPTION TO THE ROM UPDATE PROCESS MAY CAUSE GREAT HARM TO YOUR ANDROID DEVICE.

Comments»

1. leo992 - January 22, 2014

What if I run CWM and I want to easy updates to OmniRom? Can I change my recovery software? If yes can you tell me how! 🙂

Admin - January 22, 2014

Just make sure U update to the latest CWM recovery for any new ROM change. But after new ROM installation your recovery may be automatically changed to TWRP depending on the new custom rom.

leo992 - January 22, 2014

So if I flash some ROM that suggest to run TWRP, it change my recovery software to TWRP when I flash new ROM? No need to install or change it manually?

Admin - January 23, 2014

Yes, if the new Rom is supported by TWRP. No need to manually change.

leo992 - January 23, 2014

Okay. Thank you! 🙂 But when it change that recovery software? If I start flashing a ROM (that suggest TWRP recovery) with my current used CWM recovery, when it is going to change to TWRP? I’m little bit confused about it. Nooby noob… 😦

Admin - January 23, 2014

When u flash a new ROM which is TWRP based, after full installation of rom the new recovery will be installed in the background. So when the next time u boot into Recovery, it is on TWRP.

leo992 - January 24, 2014

Okay, now I understand how that works. Thank you very much for your help!! 🙂

Admin - January 24, 2014

Welcome. Once u understand the overall concept of Root and Custom Rom as well as its associated tools (Recovery, SuperSU, etc. ) things become clearer.

leo992 - January 24, 2014

I know, I’m now starting to learn. Maybe when KitKat ROMs start to be more stable I can try flash it in my Note. Now I run CM 10.2. I get that when I used CM Installer.

Admin - January 24, 2014

If you want more stable Kitkat nightly builds, try Asylum-Omni 4.4.2 rom. It’s less known than CM but the team is highly expert. Can get the download & flashing steps on XDA developers.

leo992 - January 24, 2014

I have read about it. That’s actually why I come to your site. 🙂
I have read that I have to put .zip files in sd card. Which one, Internal what I can’t remove or external what is removable?

Admin - January 25, 2014

ext sd card


Leave a Reply

